Gameduino2 + Arduino mini pro

I just got three Arduino pro mini’s but have problems uploading sketches to it using a USB->TTL device. Some googling suggests that I have a converter that is not ideal. It lacks a RST pin. This makes it hard to use. There seems to be a number of different variants of these devices, ref i.e. this post. I gave up on my device and used by Arduino UNO board to program the Pro Mini instead. It’s easy, just removing the processor from the UNO, connection TX/RX/5v/Gnd and reset. I uploaded the sketch without problems.  I the hooked it up to the Gameduino2 and it worked ! I’ve ordered another converter that hopefully works…

The Mini Pro only uses a tiny bit of the available space on Gameduino2. My measurements shows that it is room for a CC3000 based breakout board that will make the combo wireless. Including audio output socket the combo is now 10mm thick (excluding the connector pins making it a arduino shield). I plan to remove the pins and the audio connector. Can I get it down to 8mm thick ?  Don’t know where to put the power plug yet. Use a usb micro ?… I want it thin !

I don’t have too much space for the sensors. I do not want to have any double layers (again:keeping it thin). Hmm… Here is the idea: If I go for wireless, I can get rid of the real time clock. I can fetch that from internet. If I don’t want wireless/internet, I’ll put the RTC where there is now room for wireless shield.  Would be nice to have both though….

IMG_8550
Gameduino2 with Arduino Pro Mini in the corner
IMG_8551
Closer look at the Pro Mini
IMG_8552
It has a potential to be thin (dont’ pay attention to the bad soldering and connectors)
IMG_8554
This USB->TTL converter was not the best choice…
IMG_8557
More space available
Leave a Reply

